Clearing Up Delegate Votes Misinformation

It is important that we all understand the rules that apply to the election of National Convention delegates at the District convention.

1-It has been brought to our attention that some people have been told that if Donald Trump was the top primary vote getter in your county, you are bound to vote only for a Trump supporter delegate at the DISTRICT #11 CONVENTION on April 27th. Otherwise you can be fined $10,000. THIS IS FALSE. No such law exists.

2- Each of the 13 NC Districts, including ours, elect three delegates and three alternates to the National Convention. At the NC state GOP convention an additional 33 delegates will be voted upon and/or appointed by the NC GOP leadership for a total of 72 for NC.

3- Per the results of the NC GOP PRIMARY, at the STATE convention, the STATE GOP LEADERSHIP WILL ASSIGN 29 delegates to vote for Trump on the first ballot, 27 for Cruz, and the balance for the other candidates who were awarded delegates.

4- Only delegates at the NATIONAL Convention (not the District Convention) are required to agree to a fine if they do not vote as instructed on the first ballot. On the second ballot, NC delegates are free to vote for whomever they wish.

Therefore you should vote for the delegates at the DISTRICT convention who support your choice for president at the National Convention on the second and subsequent ballots if no candidate gets the required majority on the first ballot.

The convention has been curiously scheduled on a Wednesday night when many delegates have church meetings. Please come to the Convention. This is the first time in 40 years that your vote for delegates could have an impact on who gets elected president.  

If you are a Cruz supporter, we ask that you vote for the Ted Cruz endorsed slate of six. There are at least 14 fine Cruz supporters running to be a delegates, but if Cruz supporters spread their vote over 14 candidates, we may have the most votes, but not get Cruz supporters elected.

James F. Davis, delegate candidate and District #11 ‘Cruz for President’ Chairman